A thought for the day

Why is it, as writers, that we procrastinate? There’re times when we’d rather do anything other than write; and yet, at the same time, we can think of nothing else, other than writing. Nearly everything we see and hear is a prompt to compose and create; but we don’t. Not writing makes me unhappy and I’m constantly tormented by the mantra,Β I’ll do it later, or maybe tomorrow. The excuses pile up, until they become a potential avalanche that threatens our mental well-being.

Making resolutions, and even drawing up schedules are just as bad, because they’re rarely adhered to. The irony, of course, is that when we do start to write again, we immediately feel happy and fulfilled. There’s something inherently satisfying about creating new places and new faces.

Then again, there are genuine distractions and situations that stop us from fully focusing on our chosen occupation: work, family, politics, especially the recent general election just held here in the UK. I spent most of my time watching the news, or scrolling through Facebook, trying to keep track of which party was in the lead. As for work, I can no longer claim that as a distraction, since I took early retirement back in May πŸ˜€

That said, I have been writing more, focusing mainly on my current wip, the first book inΒ The Songstress Trilogy and I’ve never felt happier. Now that my time’s my own, I have the inclination and energy to do what I really want and that is to write πŸ˜€ That said, I did manage to write and have three books published, whilst I was still working, so for all of you who are still employed, it’s not an excuse to put off creating until you retire πŸ™‚

The Silver Flute Trilogy

For me, the pen writes on, albeit slightly faster now πŸ™‚

tweeting

4 Responses to “A thought for the day”

  1. Can’t wait to read your new creations! Continue to enjoy your retirement.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You say it … There’s something inherently satisfying about creating new places and new faces …

    Go for it, until the characters reveal themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

