Writer’s block…


… is an author’s worst nightmare. It’s when you’re bereft of inspiration and, no matter how hard you try, your imagination seems to have shut down. In fact the harder you try, the worse the situation can become. The emptiness echoes around your brain, spreading darkness and desolation, along with the odd tumbleweed. This in turn raises all kinds of doubts: Has your talent deserted you? Will you ever write again? The thought of not being able to create raises all kinds of fears and engenders a bleakness that fills your life with greyness.

I remember a post I put on my author’s page on  Facebook about writer’s block and someone commented on it. It was made, I suspect, by a rather brash young man. He stated there was no excuse for not writing – what a ridiculous, black and white thing to say! Authors do have a life outside writing and all the problems associated with day to day living: work, family, illness, breakups from the love of their lives, all of which can interrupt the creative flow. This naturally leaves people fed up and unable to free themselves from what seems like an unbreakable pattern. Kate Jack Author Page

But there is light at the end of the tunnel. Writer’s block can be overcome. Personally I go on a reading spree, garnering inspiration from my favourite authors. I even mentally edit books as I read, and feel really smug when I reconstruct clumsy sentences and dialogue written by famous authors. This reassures me that even best selling writers can make small mistakes, so there’s hope for me. And if there’s hope for me, then there’s definitely hope for all you self doubters out there.

Inspiration will return, so never give up, never lose hope, but charge into the fray and write, write, write! 😀

https://goo.gl/IdfXVD AMAZON UK 

https://goo.gl/MweUOt AMAZON US

**If you liked this post, please give it a star rating at the top of the page**

 

 

2 Responses to “Writer’s block…”

  1. Wow, you’ve really captured the essence of writer’s block. Nothing feels worse. As for implication that there is no excuse for not writing, I would say that’s hogwash. Sure, I could force myself to write every day, but what is the point of spewing out lackluster words that will need to be deleted later on? If you’re feeling uninspired, it’s hard to force it. I feel just as bad if I write crap as I do when I write nothing. And, just because you aren’t adding words to your novel, doesn’t mean you aren’t writing. Blogging is writing. You’re still practicing your craft.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

