Writing Isn’t Easy


Does this resonate with any writers out there? It certainly does with me.

Creative State of Mind

coven.jpg

Writing is difficult. Sometimes it’s torture. Other times it’s blissfully easy. Most of the time, for me, it’s hard work. Over the past four days, it’s been all of those things.

As I iron out the final chapters of The Coven, I’m forcing myself to write one sentence at a time, one after the other, no matter how much it hurts. For months, it was torture knowing the book was so close to completion, but not knowing how to finish. Then Saturday, I had an aha moment where the end of the book seemed so clear, so obvious. Blissfully, I sat down and pounded on the keyboard as the words poured out of me. Easy, right?

Not so much. It’s down to the final showdown, the big action scene at the end of the book. I hate writing action scenes. Some people might feel differently, but I’m not a fan…

View original post 98 more words

3 Responses to “Writing Isn’t Easy”

  1. Thanks for sharing, Kate!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like you sometimes the actual writing seems easy, while others I’m making myself move forward. But all in all, I have to say writing a novel has been the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Anybody can put pen to paper, but it takes a special breed to actually complete a novel 🙂 Mine is written and in the revision phase. I view it as putting icing on the cake 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

