Smoking hot? I think not.


no-smoking-symbol-vector1

For regular viewers of my blog, you’ll have noticed I haven’t posted for awhile. The reason for this is because I’ve been in hospital for 3 weeks, having been admitted as a priority. Why? Because years of smoking have finally caught up with me and I have vascular disease, which means the arteries in my left leg have filled up with toxic crap.

logo_vascular_surgery

The result? What started out as a blister on my left big toe, turned into an ulcer, which then became infected and the final outcome was the loss of my entire big toe. In order to reach that stage, I had to undergo an angioplasty operation to clear my artery, which was, despite a local anaesthetic, painful in the extreme. This was so the blood flow to the resulting wound, formerly occupied by my digit, would be sufficient for it to heal. I face 6 to 8 weeks confined to my bedroom, while this process begins.

tree of life

This was all self-inflicted. I know what smoking can do, but I chose to ignore it. I buried my head in the sand, like most smokers do. I embraced the idiotic mantra “that it couldn’t happen to me,” etc, etc. And yes, I realise that this little homily to the virtues of not smoking is too little, too late for me. I could still lose the rest of my foot, or even half my leg. Yes, I’ve stopped smoking, but it would’ve been better never to have started in the first place.

no-smoking-symbol-vector1

So please, even though you may have heard it all before, if you smoke, stop. It’s not easy, but better a few unpleasant withdrawal symptoms than what I’ve gone through, or worse, and the certainty of an early, highly unpleasant death.

kj

8 Responses to “Smoking hot? I think not.”

  1. I hope this goes viral, Katrina. Thank you for having the courage to tell the full story, many of us pull the wool over our own eyes. I worked in International Finance in London, but also did part-time runway modeling. I was 5’10” and weighed 130 lbs, a very unhealthy, starvation diet kept me slim.

    Perhaps there is a book waiting to be written, Katrina, kind of like Chicken Soup for the Soul, but looking back at the choices people made and how it affects their lives today. Perhaps titled ‘Fool me Once, Fool me Twice’.

    Every good wish for the future, Katrina, you were missed on Social Media more than I can say.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kate, I’m so sorry to hear this. I had no idea this was going on. My thoughts and prayers are with you as you recover.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Huh, Kate, what an ordeal you had to go through, and now the grieving for your toe. Wishing you good energy and the best healing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very true, Ashen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

