Excuses for not writing

writing

Considering I love writing, I often find “reasons” for not doing it. Odd? Yes indeed, but I suspect I’m not the only writer to succumb to this strange malaise. I think part of the reason is the thought of having to put my brain in gear and spark some neurons into life. In fact let’s be honest, in my case, it’s down to sheer laziness.

brain

Some of the feeble excuses I’ve come up with in the past, are: writer’s block, lack of inspiration, not in the mood, and so on and so on.  I’ve even been known to tackle the ironing, rather than sit down at the keyboard.

ironing-steam1

And yet when I do write, I feel so much better, I feel as though I’ve achieved something. I think part of the reason that I churn out these excuses, is that I don’t have a set writing routine. I tell myself that it’s because I work full time, but that doesn’t really wash. Plenty of writers have to work to support themselves, but still manage to write on a regular basis. I can’t even put it down to lack of ideas. My imagination is pretty active and almost everything I see and hear in my daily life, supplies me with material to write about.

writing

So what’s the solution to my laziness? Well it’s like taking exercise in a way. You start off by doing ten minutes exercise and gradually build it up. Even if I wrote for only a few minutes day, it’s far better than not writing at all. So it’s time to gird my loins, boot up the old laptop and forge ahead (fingers crossed).

SONY DSC

http://goo.gl/rpJxPM Amzn UK KATE

http://goo.gl/KD4uZ2 Amzn US

silver flute trilogy

 

3 Responses to “Excuses for not writing”

  1. I can definitely relate to this. I have come up with every excuse imaginable (never ironing, though). I don’t understand it. When I write, I absolutely love it, but I can’t seem to get started.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

