The highs and lows of writing fiction


writing

I love writing YA urban fantasy, when the words, plot, characterisation, etc, are flowing. But when it all grinds to a halt, that’s when it becomes frustrating. 

writing

When I finally finished The Silver Flute Trilogy, I experienced a sense of accomplishment that was positively euphoric! I was on a high. What made it even better, was that I already had an idea for my next three books to be written under the banner heading of: The Songstress Trilogy. 

music 6

Then came the low. I quite happily set about drafting the first book, Elawyn’s Song. I created characters, plot lines,  scenarios – the whole kit and caboodle. However, I got no further than the first three chapters when I hit that brick wall known as “writer’s block.” Initially, I saw my writing journey laid out before me as a long, straight road, well sign posted as to which direction I needed to go. Then I ran out of steam. 

running out of steam

I gave myself a good talking to – to no avail. No matter how hard I tried the right words wouldn’t come. The plot began to wander, the dialogue and narrative were scratchy. In vain I told myself that the first draft didn’t need to be perfect, just so long as I got the basics down, which normally works a treat; not this time though.

writing

I’ve always been something of a procrastinator, but seem to have gone into procrastinating over-drive this time. I really need to kick start the writing process again very soon. Once I start on chapter four, hopefully the old writing neurons will spark back into life. 🙂

silver flute trilogy

http://goo.gl/rpJxPM Amzn UK KATE

http://goo.gl/KD4uZ2 Amzn US

3 Responses to “The highs and lows of writing fiction”

  1. I can certainly sympathize with you. This has happened to me many, many times. I’ve turned to writing poetry for the month of April just to give myself a break from the guilt I feel at not working on a half-finished novel. I don’t know why I can’t make myself finish the book, but I can’t. Good luck to you in getting back on track.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

