Seasonal writing


seasons

Does your writing mood change according to what time of year it is? I have to say that although my novel writing is mainly dark, when spring and summer roll around I find my mood lightens. This is when I write short stories that are frivolous, whimsical even: Dreamtime part l

shop

https://goo.gl/d6H5x3.

I started my writing career, many years ago, by writing short stories, but abandoned this  when I eventually graduated to novels. I’d begun to find short stories vaguely dissatisfying, in a way I couldn’t quite define. All I did know was that writing books gave me a sense of achievement I’d not experienced before.

writing

Now, after a long time, I’ve returned to short stories, albeit it sporadically, and find myself enjoying the challenge, and it is a challenge. In comparison to writing a book, were the author is free to expand the plot as they wish, one has to be far more disciplined when composing a short work of fiction. All the elements of novel writing: plot, narrative, dialogue and characterisation, have to be fitted into a much tighter space, which for me means racking my brain to the utmost.

brainstorm1

I’ve always admired authors who can squeeze whole worlds into a few thousand words. Robin Hobb, author of The Farseer trilogy is such a one. I heartily recommend Silver Lady and a Fortyish man, written under her real name, Megan Lindholm, and A touch of Lavender  as sterling examples of the art of short story writing.

kj

https://twitter.com/kateannejack

 

2 Responses to “Seasonal writing”

  1. I have to say that my writing doesn’t change on the seasons or weather. My mood does. I’m much more inclined to write a lot on a rainy day than a sunny day. It’s weird how that works out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

