The reason why I write what I write.

flute 1

As some of you may know, I write YA urban fantasy fiction; there are several reasons why I’ve adopted this genre as my own. Urban fantasy is a relatively new genre and one, though I do say it myself, I took to like a duck to water.

duck

I first came across it via Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden series and was immediately hooked.

Dresden_Files

Apart from the setting, which of course has to be in a city, the freedom to involve whatever else I liked really appealed to me. In Jim Butcher’s case, the series is set in the real city of Chicago. The characters, however, range from humans to faeries, and everything in between, including vampires and pizza loving sprites. 

midnight 2

The city in my first book is fictional, although loosely based on my home town of Liverpool. The characters range from humans to Elwyns (my name for elves), to Gangers, a type of ogre.

gloaming 1

As we move onto the second book, we enter the world of the Gloaming, an underground city peopled with humans, Gangers and Elwyns, with the addition of demons and a unique type of butchers called “Corpse-takers.”

dawn horizon

The third book leads the reader into the Midnight Land itself, again an underground city and principal home of the Gangers and demons.

One of the characters I am particularly proud of is Thrace, a human/demon hybrid, who reformed his wicked ways and became a monk.

thrace

All in all the books are an eclectic mix, but as far as I’m concerned they work. The genre allows me a freedom of expression that is perhaps not always available to other writers. I’ve tried my hand at “normal” fiction, but find it far too restrictive for my personal style of writing.

Fiction-Fantasy-Writing-Prompts

I’ve heard the fantasy genre described as “easy” to write because “anything goes.”  That’s not true, not if it’s done properly. There’s just as much  blood, sweat and tears involved in producing a good fantasy book, as in any other work of fiction.

magic-trick

Good fantasy is written so that any fantastical events appear feasible to the reader and therefore makes it easier for them to suspend their disbelief. There has to be a good reason for all the characters’ actions and this includes the use of magic. Magic shouldn’t be used as the solution to every problem the characters encounter, otherwise it becomes an easy get out clause and therefore not viable. The saying “less is more” applies here, so that when magic is used, it becomes believable.  Occasionally using more realistic methods for characters to disentangle themselves from a situation is perfectly acceptable.

So for all you fantasy writers out there, go to it! Mount your horses, flourish your swords,, cast your spells and build your cities. 😀

Orange_Transparent_Banner_PNG_Clipart

https://twitter.com/kateannejack

 

 

 

 

One Response to “The reason why I write what I write.”

Leave a Reply

