What do you want from your writing?


writing

People have different reasons for wanting to write. Some genuinely want to share ideas, dreams and their creativity with the world; others want fame. And then there’re those who think it’s an easy way to make money.

Black-Desktop-Background

Well, apart from a very lucky few, it’s not likely that you’ll become an overnight millionaire. And what about the other reasons: creativity and fame? Again, fame is hard to achieve, as there’s so much competition out there, all clamouring for attention. That said, persistence is the key in achieving attention for your work. However, and this is important, the way a writer goes about marketing is crucial, or one can end up gaining notoriety, rather than fame. One neverΒ demandsΒ that people read one’s work and review it, singing its praises to the skies, even if it’s a load of steaming horse manure! That way lies madness.

manurehero

Of course you’ll get the odd troll rubbishing your work, but these are usually easy to tell apart from the genuine reviewers, who are just giving their honest opinion. The worst thing a writer can do is to respond to these muckrakers, as that’s exactly what they want; they take pleasure from other people’s distress.Β 

troll

“Bad” reviews are upsetting, but it’s best to accept that not everyone will like your work. The important thing is not to sulk about it, but accept it as a fact of life and move on.

Fiction-Fantasy-Writing-Prompts

Last, but not least, write because you love it. Polish your work until it gleams. Share your dreams with others, and above all, enjoy it. πŸ™‚

https://twitter.com/kateannejack

https://www.facebook.com/KatrinaAnneJack/

8 Responses to “What do you want from your writing?”

  1. Inspirational post!
    I think I would go insane if I didn’t write, lol. I have too many imaginary friends that want to be shared with the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bummer, Kate. I thought you were going to give me the secret to fame and fortune. Looks like I’ll just have to keep writing for the Love of it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Write what you love and love what you write.” My mantra! πŸ™‚ I find myself saying that all the time when others ask me where I get my ideas and what I think they should write.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

