What’s the harm in asking for a favour?


 

demandWell, it depends on how the askee puts it.  I’ve been using social media for quite a while now, but it never ceases to amaze me how many fellow socialites, be it via Twitter or Facebook, actually phrase their “request” as a demand. It’s as though they think they  have the God-given-right to order someone to read their work. As I’ve said in the past, it should be quid pro quo. It should not be expected for someone to give up their valuable time, without something in return, it’s  only good manners, after all. And I’m not talking money here. 

twitter

https://twitter.com/kateannejack

I’ve lost count how many times I’ve followed someone back on Twitter, only to receive messages asking me to retweet a certain post, or like a Facebook page without any hint that there will be any reciprocation. Like the naive idiot I was, I would comply and message them back, asking for a return favour, after I’d retweeted or liked their page. What happened? Either I didn’t get a reply or, on one occasion, the person deleted my message. I could not believe the rudeness, deceit and selfishness of this individual and I promptly unliked their page and unfollowed them. 

https://www.facebook.com/KatrinaAnneJack

So listen up, all you self absorbed so and so’s, if you want to gain a bad reputation, carry on as you are. If you don’t, then learn to share or you’re probably on the fast track to nowhere.

http://goo.gl/dasz9y Amzn UK 

http://goo.gl/E8uZnR Amzn US 

amazon

9 Responses to “What’s the harm in asking for a favour?”

  1. Reblogged this on Tricia Drammeh and commented:
    Excellent advice from Kate Jack on how NOT to use Twitter. A little etiquette goes a long way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes!!! I hate those direct messages telling me to download their book, or like them on Facebook, or follow their blog. I wonder if the people who use these automated messages realize how annoying this is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate the automated twitter messages period and completely ignore them. I’ve lost track of the times though that I have voted, shared, copied, posted, tweeted, etc. Stuff for people who never return the favor. I guarantee I’ve voted for over 100 people but when I had a book that needed votes I got 13…I guess I asked too nicely, Lol!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, it is sad.

    Like

  5. Couldn’t have put it better myself! Well done Kate! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

