Writing schedule…


…do you need one?
writing

 

I know I do. That said, I don’t seem able to adhere to one. The fact I work full-time is a handy excuse that quite frankly doesn’t hold up. There’s always a way to make time for writing, either before or after work, or even both.

early morning

So what’s stopping me? Well, the usual: procrastination, bad moods, old age – the list is endless. That said, I’m a writer through and through and I love it. I love the very fact I can create worlds and characters at the touch of a keyboard, and the use of my imagination. All I really think about are words and what use they can be put to. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

words1

 

I find it impossible to read a book without “editing” it, and rearranging sentences to “better” effect. Not a day goes by without me tweeting and facebooking about my own work and other people’s. 

twitter

And maybe that’s part of the problem. We’re all aware that nowadays we need to actively promote our own writing, which is all well and good. However, it can become addictive and take over, when we should be writing; hence the need for a schedule. I’m determined to draw up a timetable partly devoted to writing and partly devoted to promoting. After all, it doesn’t have to be either/or, it’s possible to do both.

Writing – here I come 😀

writing

http://goo.gl/dasz9y Amazon UK

http://goo.gl/E8uZnR Amazon US

clock 2 

5 Responses to “Writing schedule…”

  1. I’m like you, I find it difficult to schedule writing time but just try to write every day, even if it’s only a little. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My problem seems to be balance. I have a hard time promoting AND writing. And procrastination! And think that’s a writer’s greatest enemy. I like to update my website, switching things around, changing the header, etc. I tell myself this is part of my author platform, but in reality, I’m just playing around in order to avoid writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

