Freestyle writing challenge.


I’ve been tagged from https://janedougherty.wordpress.com/2015/05/10/free-style-writing-challenge/   which you should visit) to participate in a writing challenge. I’ve just done it and wrote the first thing that came into my head.

These are the rules

  1. Open an MS Word Document
  2. Set a stop watch or your mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you think you can beat
  3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!!!
  4. Fill the word doc with as much words as you want. Once you start writing do not stop.
  5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check (its only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
  6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals. However, if you do, it would be best
  7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. of words = ____” so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
  8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nomination (at least five (5) bloggers)

My topic was:You’ve inherited a small fortune. You can move to any part of the world you like. Where would you go?

If I won a small fortune, I’d move to the Lake District. I’d have a bit house, with plenty of land, so I could open a donkey sanctuary. I’ve always liked donkeys and have wanted one as a pet for years.
We used to go to the Lake District with the school and stay in a youth hostel, near Ambleside. We would go down to Lake Windermere and paddle in the water, it was freezing. I used to like Kendal Mint cake, but can’t eat it now. We would get given sandwiches to take with us, horrible lemon curd sandwiches, which I tried to feed to a sheep. I ran away – I’m not surprised.
Memories of the Lake District have stayed with me, even though I haven’t been back there, since I was a child. I remember it always rained, but I didn’t mind. We visited a cave. Can’t remember the name of it now. It had a pool in it that was such a deep blue, it appeared to be bottomless. We walked for what seemed miles and at the end of the day, my feet ached.
The mattress on my bed, in the hostel, was too big and I’d end up on the floor. I got a bad cough, while I was there, probably due to the rain, and the teacher in charge gave me some cough mixture that was absolutely disgusting.
The food was good, apart from the sandwiches. The hostel was a in, what seemed to me at the time, a very large, Victorian house. My dormitory was up in the attics.
One day I’ll go back.

271 words in 6 minutes.

My nominees to take up the challenge are:

http://blog.triciadrammeh.com/

theowlladyblog.wordpress.com
thestoryreadingapeblog.wordpress.com

Your topic is: What I do on my days off.

2 Responses to “Freestyle writing challenge.”

  1. Yup. I was right. Fascinating stuff, Kate. Real stream of consciousness. The lady is coming with your injection now…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

