Plotting vs spontaneity


spontaneous

When I start work on a new book or story, I draft out a plotline, pinpointing characters, situations, backgrounds, and so on. However, as the work progresses, I find myself increasingly diverting from my notes and going in a totally different direction to what I originally intended. So why bother plotting things out? Well, I used to just slap words onto the page, without thought or care, and would later on find plot holes and inconsistencies all over the place. Yet I still write spontaneously, from time to time. Why is this?

plotting

The reason why is that I’m an impatient person by nature and want things to happen quickly. To get round this problem, I now approach my writing in two ways. Once I get an idea, I make notes, as mentioned above, then begin to write by the seat of my pants. Contradictory? Not for me. I’ve found that it’s easier to bang the words out on the old computer, then go back to my notes from time to time, and readjust, or discard, certain elements of the story/book. The result? I get the best of both worlds: quickness and consistency.

computer

So what works for you? How do you write – fast and furious – or slow and careful?

kj

http://goo.gl/dyj5Fc

7 Responses to “Plotting vs spontaneity”

  1. I work the same – I jot down a loose synopsis before beginning, then write down what comes. Of course, the synopsis I started with a decade ago has long since flown out the window… 😛 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tend to write in my head while walking or swimming. Get back to my desk and jot down reminder notes about plot and characters in a notebook and then revisit several times before a storyline takes shape. I usually have an ending mapped out but like you I might take detours on the way to getting there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mostly fast and furious, but I feel like there is a lot of re-work that happens with that method. So there is definitely pros and cons to each. Maybe someday I’ll have the patience to be a plotter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

