Why so slow?


tortoise It takes me, on average, 6-8 months to write a book, it can even expand to twelve months. So I complete maybe one book a year. Why is this, when other writers, like Dean Koontz, are so prolific? Maybe it’s because top authors earn their living entirely by writing. They don’t have to go to the office, factory, bakery, etc, every day. But is this a valid excuse?

work

Well, no it isn’t. Time can always be made for the things you really want to do, and that’s just what I’ve done. I’ve forced myself to stop faffing around and knuckle down. And you know what? Once I started work on my current wip, Elawyn’s Song, I couldn’t stop. More importantly, I didn’t want to stop.

Ain’t that great? 😀

 

3 Responses to “Why so slow?”

  1. Fran Macilvey Says:

    That’s not slow – good grief! If I could write a book a year, I would be so happy. Lots of stuff called Life gets in the way, though.

    Prolofic authors have a team of researchers at their disposal, is my guess, as well as a publicity machine that takes the sweat out of life. They also work to formulas, I imagine, as they know what their fans like.

    Fran XXX 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maybe I just feel I’m slow, ‘cos I keep leaving off writing for weeks on end. The strange thing is, I feel really depressed when I don’t write – go figure 😀 And you’re right about top writers, they can afford a lot of help.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fran Macilvey Says:

    I hope you write when you feel like it, and that doing so helps with your mood. It helps mine a lot! xxx 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

