Wellbeing = writing.


writing

I don’t know about you, but when I’ve completed a chapter, or created a character, I get a feeling of intense satisfaction and a warm inner glow. This is accompanied by a sense of achievement, so monumental, it feels like I could conquer the world 😀 But, I hear you say, you’re a self confessed procrastinator, so how can this be?

procrastinate

I know, it doesn’t make any sense whatsoever. All I can say is that when I do actually apply myself, I  experience the above sensations. So, you reply, why don’t you stick at it? The answer’s simple: life gets in the way. Like most writers, I have to work for a living and this, along with day to day chores, such as food shopping, house cleaning, and so on, drain the energy and vitality from me, that should be reserved for my creative “genius”.

fed up

That’s no excuse! you retort, and you’re right, it isn’t, but it’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it… or not 🙂

2 Responses to “Wellbeing = writing.”

  1. For some people, like me, those day to day distractions take me out of the “zone” and it’s hard to get back to it. Procrastination doesn’t happen because we don’t want to write, it’s because it’s hard to refocus once we’re off track, especially when we know we’ll be pulled in a different direction again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

