What’s in a name?


title

Before you start on a new work, do you have to have a title first, before writing? I do. Yes, I have the characters, the plot, and so on, all in place, but for some unfathomable reason I can’t start until I’ve given it a title.

I wonder why that is. Maybe I need to give my latest creation a name, so I can put a “face” to it, in order to “see” it, thus making it 3 dimensional, at least in my mind’s eye.name

After all, each and every story has its own, unique identity, without it, it remains an enigma. I find giving my work a name particularly difficult. With the first book in The Silver Flute Trilogy, Land of Midnight Days, I originally called it simply  “Midnight Days.” And as you can see, it also had a different cover.

midnight days - AUTHOSIZED

midnight 2

I didn’t take the precaution of doing an online search first and when I did, to my chagrin, found Neil Gaiman already had a work with the same name. I didn’t want to lose the Midnight Days bit, so came up with its present title by adding “The Land of.”

The middle book, Through the Gloaming, didn’t present a problem, even though the word “Gloaming” has been used before, I felt it was still different enough to remain intact.

gloaming 1

However, with the final book, Dawn Horizon, orginally called Dawn Rising, I had nearly the same problem as Midnight, except this time a friend of mine tactfully informed me that that was the title of her book. Since she got in there first, I gracefully withdrew and renamed my book.

dawn horizon

So, what’s in a name? A great deal, methinks. 😀

 

 

 

4 Responses to “What’s in a name?”

  1. Same problem with song titles Kate. There are only so many. I always have the title first before the story – the title gives me the story. I agonise over character names for ages and ages however. I’ve even used combinations of names of people I know. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’ s sticky issue, alright. That said there’re always going to be repetitions, but what can you do?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well register your name as a trade mark or company is one option which musicians have and if a song is that popular the title is almost set in concrete. With books I guess the same but I noticed that when Shiver was put out there were many other books on Amazon with the same titles. Same with author names. A friend found that another author with the same birth name was on amazon also and their books got really muddled up…the other lesser known author used a middle initial but it has not stopped her bad reviews reflecting on my friends books which are in a different genre for a start…it is a minefield.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I suppose your friend could use a pen name, but it’s not the same as having your own name out there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

