To be or not to be…

…a real writer, that is the question.

thinking

It’s something that’s been on my mind a lot lately. Am I a real writer? Okay, I’ve had three books published, but that somehow doesn’t convince me that I’m the real McCoy. I haven’t written on a regular basis for some time now, and doubts are setting in that I have anymore stories in me. It’s not due to writers block, I have ideas in abundance, but when it comes to setting them down, that’s where the problems arise.

procrast2

I seem to spend my life in a permanent hiatus, as far as writing is concerned. Could it be I’m disenchanted with the whole becoming-an-author game? Probably, but I knew what I was doing when I embarked on my writing journey, it’s just proved much harder than I’d anticipated. I feel as if I’ve run into a brick wall.

Brick-Wall-550x355

However, tomorrow’s another day and who knows, maybe there’ll be light at the end of the tunnel.

light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel

https://twitter.com/kateannejack

8 Responses to “To be or not to be…”

  1. I can totally relate to this post. I went through the same thing at the beginning of the year. I wasn’t sure I could write another book, or if I even wanted to. I would occasionally force myself to write a little, and then nothing for a few days. It went on like that for several weeks. Finally, I started really getting into my book and then it took off. I wrote a whole book in less than six weeks. I think we just go through tough spots. Don’t give up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve gone through this several times, at least twice a year. I have six books out there, and there are times none of them are selling. Or I get to the point where I can’t write a single words for weeks. When this happens, I wonder if my creativity is gone, or if I was only kidding myself when I thought I could be a “real” writer. I think we all go through this from time to time, but don’t give up. Take a break if you need to. There’s nothing wrong with taking a long hiatus if you need to recharge. But never, ever give up. You’re an amazing writer, Kate!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Tricia. At the risk of sounding like a mutual appreciation society, you’re a brilliant storyteller, and one day, hopefully, you’ll get the recognition you deserve.

      Like

  3. Come on, Kate! If you have the ideas just get your arse into gear and write them down. We’re waiting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

