Behind the scenes (Part one).

Lifetitle

When writing a novel, some authors compose character profiles, listing each individual’s characteristics, physical apperance, and so on. This gives the writer something to refer to, in order to maintain consistancy. It’s especially useful if the author has a dodgy memory, or there’re a lot of characters; it builds a solid foundation on which to build the plot.

_book_building

I may be stating the obvious, but what about a character’s back story to add to your authorly tool kit, as well? Creating a character’s background, helps to make that “person” three dimensional. It keeps in mind why this individual does what he/she does, what their purpose in life is, and what goals they hope to achieve. Like the character profiles, this is an aid to enhancing the plot and giving the readers something solid to latch onto.

midnight 2

All the characters I’ve created for The Silver Flute Trilogy are very real to me. I spent a lot of time thinking about each and every one of them, perhaps endowing them with traits of real people I’ve met, or celebrities I like, mixing and matching, and blending those traits in order to create a whole new personality.

Flute player hands in a black background

In my next post, I’ll give an example of how I arrived at the principal character, Jeremiah Tully, and the reasons why I made him into what he is. 🙂

wreath

http://goo.gl/qw64zu Land of Midnight Days UK
http://goo.gl/VMJLS2 Land of Midnight Days US

9 Responses to “Behind the scenes (Part one).”

  1. I have spreadsheets for each book or series which lists character names, important facts about each character, and I usually have a page for chapter outlines as well. This is a great post for aspiring authors who are still in the drafting stage and trying to find a way to organize all their information. Even if all the little “facts” on our spreadsheet or list doesn’t make it into the manuscript, it still helps us flesh out the characters in our minds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Tricia. Yes, things like spreadsheets help enormously, when you’re trying to establish your characters personas. And as you say, you don’t have to use all the “facts”, but it’s better to have a few too many, rather than too few.

      Like

  2. Excellent advice. Creating character backstory helps you know your characters better, so they are more real to the reader (and to yourself as you write their story).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you agree. When I first embarked on writing novels, I had to go over and over them, as they were full of inconsistancies. Composing character profiles helped me to avoid this.

      Like

  3. Just playing catch up a bit here, but what a brilliant post Kate! Really enjoyed this. I always love delving into how something was created, the mechanics at work. Great stuff! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

