What is it about Halloween?

Halloween-Green-Witch-Wallpapers

Why do we love it so much? Is it the weirdness, or the thrill of carved out pumpkin heads, with pointy teeth? How about all the ghoulies, witches and ghosts that abound on trick or treat night? All I know is that I love it, even more than Christmas.

hungry-black-cat-wallpaper

When I was a kid, it was my favourite time of year. I particularly remember one halloween, many years ago now. I was about seven and school, for a change, had been great. We made halloween masks in the shape of cats faces. I only lived across the road and as soon as the bell rang, I ran across the road, wearing my mask, knocked on the door, and “frightened” the life out of my lovely mum, by curling my fingers into “claws” and yowling at the top of my lungs.

mum

Tea that night was fantastic. Fish and chips, followed by apple pie. Even now, when I smell a freshly baked apple pie, it’s so evocative, it brings tears to my eyes.

So however you choose to celebrate All Hallows Eve, have a safe and happy Halloween. πŸ˜€

free-halloween-wallpaper-5190-5313-hd-wallpapers

http://goo.gl/qw64zu Land of Midnight Days
http://goo.gl/c0rR2K Through the Gloaming

8 Responses to “What is it about Halloween?”

  1. I don’t know what it is, but I love Halloween too. I’m not much for parties or costumes, but I enjoy the overall season, the crisp air, colorful leaves, pumpkins on front porches. I like good old fashioned scary movies (not the slasher flicks) and even some of the Halloween movies aimed for kids. Happy Halloween!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Halloween to you as well!

    Like

  3. I like Halloween but I must confess to preferring Bonfire Night, I’m not a fan of scary movies being a complete wuss, so horror freaks me out a bit, as do face paints! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

