The writing process, where to begin…


pen

… and more importantly how to end.

To plot or not to plot, that is the question. Personally, I find it works better for me if I plot any new piece of work from start to finish. With my first published novel, Land of Midnight Days, I wrote it by the seat of my pants. The result? A complete mish mash of adverbs, exclamation marks, adjectives and gerunds; in other words, a mess. Even so, it held promise, but because I hadn’t thought ahead it wandered to and fro, with plot holes galore, inconsistencies and no ending in sight, before I finally wrestled it into submission.

midnight 2midnight

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of course there are writers who can knock out books without the need to plot out a draft, but I suspect they’re few and far between. I learnt the hard way to draft a plot first, before embarking on the creation of the actual novel. I lost count of how many times I rewrote Midnight, before it melded into a piece of fiction I was reasonably happy with.

The benefits I gained from such hard work, was that I was better prepared when I wrote the second book, Through the Gloaming. The most valuable lesson I learnt, was being able to connect the two books, via the re-use of characters from the original. Also the ability to refer back to previous situations, and introduce new characters, without causing the reader any confusion as to what was going on.

gloaming 1gloaming 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The hardest part of writing a book, for me, is deciding how it should end. It still does cause me problems, but by plotting the story out, from start to finish, it’s made that particular task a little bit easier. Sketching the story out, shows me which paths to take, in order to reach the ultimate destination. Decisions are made as to what situations should stay or go. Which characters work and those that don’t, and are therefore discarded. There was a lot of gnashing of teeth, wailing and tearing of hair, before I finally reached a writing routine that worked for me. Does it work? You bet. 😀

http://goo.gl/qw64zu Land of Midnight Days
http://goo.gl/c0rR2K Through the Gloaming

7 Responses to “The writing process, where to begin…”

  1. I know I should plot but I find that my characters are pretty pushy. I’ve only written one book, but even then, I worry about my ending because of my plot aversion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I found that too, but because of the amount of work involved in rewriting, due to not plotting, I forced myself to develop the habit of drafting plots, and it made life so much easier.

      Like

  2. I am a pantser…I get the title of the piece and the characters rush in and as I write the plot develops. I may stop, take notes and look at photos – I use photos a lot – and I may do some research as I go along. The stories write themselves and so twists and turns shock me, which means I have to research something that happens – unexpectedly. Possibly not the best way to write as most of my stories have twists in the tale, especially my murders. I am constantly surprised.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

