Does it really need to be said twice?

talking

As writers, there’re certain guidelines – I won’t say rules – that we should consult, every time we begin a new piece of work. For example: cut back on gerunds, words that end with ing, and watch the adverbs, adjectives, and so on. One thing I’ve noticed lately, is the repetition of words that have the same meaning.

ghost

The presenter of one of my favourite programmes, Ghost Adventures, has a habit of saying, “The exact same place”, or “The exact same feeling,”, as opposed to: “The same feeling,” “The same place,”using both words to emphasise the point he’s making, which is fine, and it’s fine to use it in narrative too. However, it’s a habit that can spread and grow, and if you’re not careful it can take over and make for a wordy read, which can drastically slow down the pace.

sloth11

Repetiton isn’t necessarily a bad thing and if used wisely and sparingly, can make a character’s dialogue or situation leap out and stick in the reader’s mind. On the other hand, if overused it can frustrate and annoy. So at the risk of repeating myself, watch out for it, and if necessary take a hatchet to it and become a lean, mean, writing machine. šŸ˜€

kj

http://goo.gl/qw64zu Land of Midnight Days
http://goo.gl/c0rR2K Through the Gloaming

7 Responses to “Does it really need to be said twice?”

  1. Lol, I know exactly what you mean honey, I have a habit of doing ‘the exact same thing’! Lol. šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I constantly, repetitively do the exact same thing all the time too! All joking aside, during my last editing pass I was appalled at how many times I used the words “just” and “even.” I need to make a list of my offending repetitive words and consult it each time I edit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good post, Kate. I never did know what a gerund was. Now that I know, I’ll look for them (almost wrote “I’ll begin looking”). Sneaky little guys, aren’t they?)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

