Another year, another anniversary

000_0010 It’ll soon be the anniversary of my father’s demise from cancer, and I can’t believe how fast that 12 months has gone. I still miss him like crazy and am still unable to believe he’s gone. Every time I hear a car door slam outside my house, I automatically get up from my seat to go to the front door and let him in. Then a split second later, I remember. It’s very hard to come to terms with such loss, no matter how long or short the time is. But missing that person is a kind of tribute to them. It shows how much they meant, how precious their memory is to those that are left behind. So I’ll never stop missing my parents, old as I am. Every day that goes by, every second that ticks over into minutes, I will always remember them.

000_0024 The feeling of a heart riven with pain,

is with me today, yet again.

Grief is an agony so, so strong,

it leaves you weak and feeling wrong.

Tears make my eyes sore and dim.

Yet is my sorrow for me or for him?

The funeral’s for those who are left behind.

His release was just and more than kind.

Some day it’ll be our turn to step from life to death.

It’s not far away, just the width of a breath.

2 Responses to “Another year, another anniversary”

  1. So sorry for your loss sweetie, gosh, I can’t believe a year has nearly passed. Sending lots of hugs your way. xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

