The weekend’s almost over, and…

dawn horizon

…I’m knackered. I’ve worked, almost non stop, from Saturday to Sunday editing my wip, Dawn Horizon. On top of that, I decided to make a short video about myself as a writer and to read an extract from Through the Gloaming; it proved a lot harder  than I thought it would.

This’ll be easy, I told myself. It’s a cinch. Famous last words! I wrote a brief outline of what I wanted to say, got two copies of my books, sat down in front of my computer and turned on the camera. All ready to go – right? WRONG!

First of all, considering there was only me and Meg, my cat, in the room, I was extremely nervous. I started to read, tripped over my tongue and when I played it back, I was looking down at my prepared dialogue and not at the camera. Also, when I tried to hold the books up to the camera, I dropped one right on my big toe! They’re hard backs, so it really bloody hurt!

md kindle book

Take two. I sellotaped my speech to the top of the screen, just above the camera, so it at least looked like I was addressing my prospective audience directly. However, whilst pulling off a piece of tape from the dispenser, I managed to cut my knuckle on the serrated edge.

After much swearing and stamping of feet, not to mention copious amounts of tissues to stem the blood, I set about take three. It really went well, up until right near the end, when the damn cat meowed at the top of her lungs, demanding to be fed!

000_0008

Anyway, long story short, it took me nearly two hours to make a 3 minute video – Steven Spielberg, eat your heart out. 😀

http://youtu.be/VYEFMsTHrvo

7 Responses to “The weekend’s almost over, and…”

  1. It was worth it 🙂

    Like

  2. I thought it was WONDERFUL sweetie, well done you! 😀 xxx

    Like

  3. You persevered. Very impressive, Kate ☼

    Like

  4. Thanks Ashen. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

