Some days it’s like…


rock

… pushing a rock up a hill.

Do you ever have days like that – days when everything seems like too much effort? I really want to write, but every time I boot up the computer, or pick up a pen, it feels like I’ve a ton of lead sitting on my shoulders. It’s not as though I’ve got writers block, far from it. My notebook is full of plot lines and characterisation outlines, so why do I feel like this? I wish I knew.

However, it’s not the first time I’ve felt like this, and it probably won’t be the last. I’ll shrug it aside, and get on with my writing life. After all, like everything else in day to day existence, one has to gird one’s loins and get on with things.

That said, I find, when I feel like this that it’s best not to force things, otherwise I end up writing a load of unreadable gibberish. And no, I’m not procrastinating, as some people might think. I remember being told once that there was no excuse for not writing – what a ridiculous thing to say; there’re numerous reasons, such as illness, lack of inspiration, family crisis, and so on. Apart from which, everyone is different. The drawback, though, is whatever the excuse, it leaves you feeling frustrated and annoyed with oneself.

Anyway, on the bright side, I’m due a couple of days off work this week, and by God I’m determined I will make up for lost writing time. 😀

writing

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/887598169

http://fictionhideaway.com/?s=land+of+midnight+days

6 Responses to “Some days it’s like…”

  1. Good luck on some productive writing! 🙂

    Like

  2. Fran Macilvey Says:

    Thanks for writing this! We all feel overburdened, at times, and I find it helps to accept how we feel, and then allow the feelings to go. Not make them more real by hanging on to them? It has taken me years to get into a disciplined habit with writing, but since my writing is often about escaping, I like that. The best of luck to you. xx 🙂

    Like

  3. Lovely. Being a writer is an adventure – no time to write when your brain is flowing, and no thoughts or desire when time is aplenty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

