Why be a writer?


writer1

It’s a question I’ve often asked myself. Well for me it’s something I love to do. It’s a great feeling getting the contents of your imagination down on paper, as it were. Every morning, when I wake up, my thoughts are nearly always about my craft and how I can improve it, or what my next project will be. Not a day goes by that I don’t think about writing. Obsessive? Maybe, but there’re worse things to obsess about.

I don’t know where the urge to write comes from, it’s always been there, and I don’t know what I’d do if it ever went away. I’m not, so far, what you would class as a “successful” writer, in terms of fame or money, but it doesn’t matter. Of course I’d be “right chuffed”, as we say in the Northwest of England, if I had millions of readers, and it’d be fantastic to earn my living that way. That said, lack of fame and fortune will never, ever stop me writing.

So for any fledgling authors out there, don’t write because you want to be rich and famous, write because it’s what you want to do – must do, and create the very best you can.

kj

http://fictionhideaway.com/?s=land+of+midnight+days
http://bookgoodies.com/?s=land+of+midnight+days
http://awesomegang.com/

midnightdayscover

gloaming cover

Leave a Reply

