A Self review.

Copy of midnightdayscover

Since reviews are the stuff of life for books, I thought I’d do a review of my own work. Now don’t worry, this won’t be a pantheon of self praise, and egotistical ramblings. I’ll try to be as honest and objective as I can, just as if I was reviewing someone else’ s work.

As regular readers of this blog will know, I currently have two books published: Land of Midnight Days and Through the Gloaming, books I and II of The Silver Flute Trilogy. So, let’s begin with book one,  Land of Midnight Days. Initially, the idea sprang to life about ten years ago. I was sitting at my desk in  work, staring out the window at the Littlewoods building, on Edge Lane in Liverpool, and thinking what a great location for a story it would make. Anyway, long story short, the ideal evolved and eventually became the book we have today.

Littlewoods

Although strictly speaking Midnight wasn’t my first attempt at writing a novel, it was my first published work. When I began to write it, I was aiming for the adult market, but was told time after time that it was more suited to young adults. Eventually I capitulated, and changed direction. The characters and basic story remained the same, but the plot became faster paced. Imagery became sharper, and copious amounts of over description, and heavy use of adverbs were cut back and toned down.

adverbs

So what remains? Well a story that’s very dear to my heart, naturally, and although it’s vastly improved from the original, there’s still a streak of naivety about it, common to a first time published work. By naivety I mean, not the story itself, but the style of writing. Yes, it’s a clear, and in my opinion, well written piece of work, but the book was still on the cusp, as it were, my writing style was still developing. Every time I sit down to write, my style changes slightly. Every time I read someone else’s work, it teaches me more and more about my own scribblings; I’m learning all the time, and will continue to do so until the day comes when I put down my pen for good.

With Land of Midnight Days I’ve endevoured to create a world as three dimensional as possible, and paint a picture with words that will, hopefully draw a reader in. I think I’ve succeeded, but then I would, wouldn’t I? The best parts, I think, are the characterisation, and some of the dialogue and text. I’ve tried to make the dialogue as naturalistic as possible, and the narrative as tight and pacey as I can. Of course, when I re read the book, I can always see places that I’d change, but I think most authors think that; I know Dean Koontz has actually reworked some of his established stories, and what’s good for the goose… 😀

What else? Oh, yes, characters. The main protagonist, Jeremiah Tully, is mute, but I think I’ve managed to meet this challenge head on. Despite his lack of “speech”, I’ve had feedback from readers indicating they are still very much able to connect with him.

There’s always room for improvement, of course, but writing Midnight taught me a lot, which was carried over into the subsequent book,  examples of which I’ll explain when I review book II, Through the Gloaming.

gloaming cover

Land of Midnight Days links:

amazon

 Kindle US  http://www.amazon.com/Midnight-Silver-Flute-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B008Z10Y3E/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1357957061&sr=8-10&keywords=katrina+jack
Kindle UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Midnight-Silver-Flute-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B008Z10Y3E/ref=sr_1_1_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1357957751&sr=1-1
Hardback US  http://www.amazon.com/Land-Midnight-Days-Katrina-Jack/dp/0957412649/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1357957061&sr=8-10
Hard back UK  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Land-Midnight-Days-Katrina-Jack/dp/0957412649/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357957725&sr=8-1


ecanus banner

http://bit.ly/17EiUkE (Ecanus publishing online shop)

 

9 Responses to “A Self review.”

  1. Apart from the ‘first book’ syndrome, there’s also the fact that as a story develops, characters change, the world expands and becomes more complex. Book three or four of a series can make book one seem rather simplistic. It’s great to be able to go back and ‘update’ the first book when you reach the end, just to keep it consistent with your world as it has become.

    Like

  2. Nice one, Jane .

    Like

  3. This self-review idea is really interesting, Kate. It’s always neat to hear an author’s thoughts on their work, and I can’t wait for your self-review of Through the Gloaming. 🙂

    Like

  4. Lovely idea, Katrina. First books are funny aren’t they? You can see their flaws but they’ll always hold a special place in your heart. Great post! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

