Marketing your work.


gloaming 1

When you have zero budget to pay for professional advertising, one is forced to fall back on one’s own imagination to try and capture an audience for your work. I’m fortunate in that my publisher provides very professional looking covers for my books, with the exception of Dawn Rising. This is a work in progress and so has a temporary cover.

I’ve tried to provide “adverts” that compliment the books, whilst at the same time endeavoring not to overwhelm people with my “hype.” That said, I remember a fellow member of a writing group flatly stating that he was sick of seeing authors self promoting on Facebook. In my view this was an unnecessary remark, since the facility exists to “hide” anything from your news feed that annoys, God knows I do.

owl

I also take advantage of free promotional sites, such as ask.david.com and addicted to books and, of course, my blog. It’s very much expected these days that authors take part in the marketing process and that’s what I’m trying to do, in a positive, colourful and hopefully, original way. I also “share” other writers’ posts and have received “shares” in return.

trio

So I hope my efforts at “advertising” don’t annoy, but perhaps, at the very least, entertain. 😉

http://www.wattpad.com/user/KatrinaJack

Goodreads

Facebook Page

Twitter

Kindle US

Kindle UK

Hardback US

Hardback UK 

http://askdavid.com/reviews/book/urban-fantasy/4787

http://pinterest.com/kateannejack/books-books-more-books/

http://addictedtoebooks.com/

http://www.readwave.com/kateannejack/

Best Unknown Young Adult Books

http://authorsdb.com/authors-directory/2950-katrina-jack

6 Responses to “Marketing your work.”

  1. It’s so tough to get the word out, isn’t it? I know I don’t do enough to promote my book, but beyond promoting on Facebook and Twitter and the occasional blog, I don’t know what else to do.

    I have no problem with authors who self-promote, but I do have a problem when authors ask other people to promote them without doing anything to reciprocate. I think promoting once a day on Facebook is fine (once in each group and page) unless you’re having a special promotion, in which case, getting the word out multiple times a day is essential. In my opinion, the sky’s the limit on Twitter. Most people don’t have time to look through their entire Feed, so it’s likely they’ll miss out if you only post once a day.

    That being said, I haven’t promoted my own book in weeks. I promote my blog when I have a new post, but I don’t post buying links. Maybe it’s laziness, or shyness, but I know I’m not doing enough to get the word out.

    Good luck to you, Kate. You have a great book. People will eventually realize that and flock to it.

    Like

    • Thanks Tricia, you’re very kind. You’re absolutely right about authors who ask, but don’t give. Sharing and reciprocating are the key and I always read the book first, I don’t want to be guilty of promoting some badly written piece of work. Get promoting girl, even if it’s only on social media. You’re a sterling writer and you should get your talent out there. 😀

      Like

  2. There’s promotion and there’s spam. promotion, to me, is pointing to your book and saying, here it is, have a look inside, and if you like what you see, go buy it. Spam, on the other hand, is sendig out a million requests to vote for, share, tweet, and generally expect complete strangers to do their damnedest to sell a book they’ve never read. One is a sensible tactic; the other is bloody annoying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

