Heart break Hotel.

Sand_Heart_break

As writers, we check our characters into the heart break hotel again and again. We throw traumas at them all the time, in order to further whatever story they’re caught up in. But what happens when fiction becomes reality, when sorrow and emotional pain thrust themselves into our lives?

Different people cope in different ways. Some give into the pain and crumble. Others ride it out, determined to remain strong. But how d’you cope with numbness, with the absence of any clearly defined emotion, apart from sporadic bouts of rage?

It’s a question I can’t answer, because I don’t know what to do about it. I can’t force myself to feel the “appropriate” feelings. There’s just a void where the pain should be, a nothingness that’s even worse. The tragedy that’s taking place around me as I write, hasn’t reached its full potential yet and when it does, I suspect I will ride it out, but not without a great deal of aftermath that may well leave me devastated.

I will survive and overcome it, but the journey to recovery will be long, harsh and bitter.

Such is life.

fantasy_journey-t2

5 Responses to “Heart break Hotel.”

  1. Thanks Tricia.

    Like

  2. You will ride it out, and it’s normal that it’s going to hurt a lot. Hang onto the memories.

    Like

  3. *hugs* I think devastated may well be the appropriate feeling, though. And when the time is right, you’ll feel it. Then you might wish you felt numb again (speaking from experience here). But we’re all here for you when you need us! Many hearts make light a heavy burden.

    Like

  4. Thanks Kay, much appreciated. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

