An interview with Paul Freeman, author of…

tribesman

Hello Paul and welcome to my blog and thanks for agreeing to this interview. Now let’s find out a little bit about you and your work.

Q. When did you first begin to write seriously?

 A. Thanks Katrina. It’s hard to answer that without thinking about what writing seriously means. When I started jotting down stories as a teenager it was just for fun, but I took it seriously, even if I didn’t necessarily let on. By the time I hit my twenties and decided to tackle a book, I wrote a 140K word urban fantasy which I thought was the dog’s bollocks. Now I just cringe about it and how rubbish it was. I wrote a novel called Taxi and stuck it up on a writer’s site with a peer voting system, people liked it, even though it was raw and in serious need of an edit. Now we’re talking, I thought, this is serious. But each step forward makes me realise it wasn’t really all that serious after all. Now I have had an epic fantasy novel published, and it’s nice that people will part with their hard-earned cash to read my stuff. Now I’m writing seriously, right? Next year I’ll look back and say, nah, that wasn’t serious. Hopefully.

 Q. What inspired you to become a writer?

 A. I don’t think you have a choice, if you’re a writer you write, just as a painter paints and a musician makes music. I’ve always had a vivid imagination, whether it was making up stories or games. What better way to live the adventure than to write it yourself?

 Q. Your published novel, Tribesman, is obviously based on Celtic mythology and Eastern traditions; what gave you the idea to combine two such diverse cultures?

 A. I love Celtic mythology, it’s incredibly dark and rich. As you spotted Tribesman is strongly influenced by Celtic myth, but why mix it with another culture? I just thought the clash would be fascinating. Culainn is a strong character, a fearless warrior. I wanted to take him out of his comfort zone. Have him face challenges he didn’t understand or ever encountered before. Of course that works both ways, and the people he encounters generally don’t know what to make of him either.

 Q. How do you construct your novels and stories? For instance, d’you plot the whole thing out or do you write by the seat of your pants?

 A. No, I make it up as I go, which causes me nothing but stress and anxiety. It usually starts with a single idea for a scene, or the notion of a story. The fear of a blank page is strong in this one.

 Q. Tribesman is the first in a series, when can we expect the next book?

 A. Actually, book 2 is finished and currently being edited. Warrior: A Tribesman Novel, should be out next month or so. It’s a change of scene, as Culainn heads north, still in search of the merchant’s daughter.  More magic and mayhem and a few new characters to spice things up.

 Q. What advice would you give new writers?

 A. Write for the fun of it, and choose wisely who you take advice from.

 Q. Name us a few of your favourite authors and why you like them.

 A. David Gemmell, Bernard Cornwell, Robert Low, George RR Martin. They all possess the same qualities of superb storytelling, edge of the seat action and pure escapism. I would also include in that list, and not just because I’m biased, my fellow Season of The Dead writers, (SoTD is a zombie apocalypse novel I’ve written with three other writers, due for publication this summer.) Sharon Van Orman, Lucia Adams and Gerald Johnston.

 Q. Writing can be a solitary occupation. Do you have a routine? For example, do you listen to music or write in silence? Do you write every day, or just when the mood takes you?

A. Nope, no routine. I write when I can find the time. I always write in silence, although I might bang on a bit of music before I write if I want to capture a certain mood, a bit of Clannad for those misty haunting scenes, AC/DC for the bloody mayhem.

 Q. Do you have to have a title first, before you start on a new project, or does that come later?

 A. No, the title usually comes as I write, I don’t obsess over it, it’ll come when it comes.

Q. Finally, can you provide any links to writing sites, websites, sales sites etc, where readers can view or purchase your work?

http://www.amazon.com/Tribesman-ebook/dp/B009K6KU28/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1369421464&sr=1-1&keywords=tribesman+paul+freeman

 http://www.amazon.co.uk/Tribesman-ebook/dp/B009K6KU28/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1369422469&sr=1-1&keywords=tribesman

 http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16075834-tribesman

 http://www.tribesmanseries.blogspot.ie/

 https://www.facebook.com/Tribesmanseries

 Thanks Paul and good luck with present and future sales.

 

10 Responses to “An interview with Paul Freeman, author of…”

  1. Nice to hear from someone else who just makes it up as he goes along. Makes me feel less anarchic.

    Like

  2. I second that as a “make it up as you go along” writer to hear that someone like Paul does that sort of makes me think it’s authentic. Great interview.

    Like

  3. I write as I go along as well – it’s more exciting that way! However, to be honest, I think a long way ahead of what I actually write! That avoids writing myself into a corner. Mostly.

    Like

    • Funny you should say that, Paul, I find it exciting when an idea comes to me and I write it down to work into the plot outline. It makes me feel all smug and self satisfied. 😀

      Like

  4. Great interview, Paul and Kate!

    Like

  5. Thanks, Kate, and thanks guys! Yeah making it up as you go leads to an angst ridden journey. Every book I start I say, I’m going to outline the plot with this one, but I never do. There’s something nice about living the story as it unfolds… I’m definitely outlining the next one though.

    Like

  6. […] An interview with Paul Freeman, author of… […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

