An interview with Sharon Van Orman

Q. You’ve just released your novel Lykaia, can you tell us a little of what it’s about?

A. Lykaia is the first book in a series that spans the 5,000 year history of lycans: beginning with Zeus cursing King Lykaonas of …Arcadia and his fifty sons, their histories, and the secret religious society that has looked after the lycan since the beginning.

Sophia Katsaros, a forensic pathologist, is the modern female protagonist who in a quest to find her brothers threatens to expose it all.

It’s about love, betrayal and the things that go bump in the night.

 Q. Do you plan a sequel/sequels?

 A. Yes. Lykaia is book one in the Sophia Katsaros Series.

 Q.  How long did it take you to complete Lykaia?

 A. Seven weeks.

 Q. Who is your target audience, for example: YA, adults, fantasy, horror?

 A. I’d say that my target reader is one who enjoys paranormal stories, with a bit of horror. This isn’t a YA novel, but a younger person could read it. My children have.

Q. Where is the novel available to purchase?

A. It is currently available through Amazon and Barnes and Noble. The print copy will be out in a month or so with the audio book following.

Q. Who is your favourite character in Lykaia and why?

A. That would be Sophia. I love strong women characters. And she is that. She is intelligent, caring and sarcastic. And even though she is put into situations that terrify her she doesn’t back down. I have enjoyed every minute I get to spend in her company.

Q. Writing wise, what are your hopes for the future?

A. I plan to keep writing this series. I am currently working on book two that is titled Erato. And I now know what is going to happen in book three. Or at least some of what is going to happen.

I want to publish another series I have called The Eden’s Exiles. That series starts off with Eve and chronicles her life outside the garden. There are fallen angels, Nephilum and the rise and fall of civilization. Book two is called Luluwa  and three is Eve’s  granddaughter who happens to be  Nephilum.  It’s dark and gritty and beautiful. I enjoyed writing that.

And I have another series called The Relic Hunter Chronicles that I want to work on.  It is about a tactile empath named Giovanna Scarletti who works for the Vatican tracking down relics that have been lost over the centuries. They are mysteries and are  set in the 1920’s when things were still wood and leather. It’s quite the contrast to Sophia’s high-tech world.

And finally, I collaborated on Season of the Dead, a zombie apocalypse novel, with a great group of writers. I’d like to see that continued.

Q. Tells us a little about your writing influences?

A. Well, first of all, I will read anything. I tend to gravitate towards fantasy and sci-fi. I do like horror, but I have limits. And I will read romance as well, but it has to have a great story. Diana Gabeldon, Jane Austin and Anne Rice are a few that I think I’ve taken cues from.

Q. Do you have a website or blog where readers can view more of your work?

A.  I’m working on a website. I’m rather compulsive so I want it be how I want it before I release it. And I want to have a fair amount of material to put on it before I go live with it. But you can find me easier on Facebook at the moment.

 http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sharon-Van-Orman/104637372952495

http://www.facebook.com/sharon.vanorman

 And I do have a blog, but I’m an errant blogger.

 http://nondeplumeblog.blogspot.com/

Q. Finally, what one piece of advice would you offer anyone just starting out as a writer?

A.To just write. And to understand that your first venture likely won’t be your best work. But like all things the only way to improve is to keep at it. And don’t over think it.  The way I view my characters is like old friends. I get to sit and visit with them, and if I’m lucky they will tell me a story. And if they do, I will type it up.  So don’t try to think about how a story should be, just let it be.

4 Responses to “An interview with Sharon Van Orman”

  1. Another brilliant interview, Kate! Well done!

    P.S. I love the new header design! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks Kay. 😀

    Like

  3. Tory Allyn Says:

    Great interview, Sharon.

    Like

  4. Thanks Jane 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

