The scales of inspiration.

As any artist knows, be they painter, writer or poet, inspiration is the key to creation. But what do you do when this most valuable of commodities is in short supply? The answer is seek it out wherever it may be.

It’s different for everyone. I’ve always found places, rather than people, inspiring. Buildings, train stations, gardens, parks, even the river Mersey fill me with ideas for stories and books. Urban decay is particularly “attractive” to me, which says a lot about my personality I suppose.

At one time my source of inspiration couldn’t have been more different. I’m fortunate to live in an area of Liverpool rich in parks and public gardens and I used many of these as the backdrop to my work, when I wrote high fantasy.

That all changed, when one fateful day I sat looking out of a window at work, staring at the Littlewoods Building. That wasΒ  the day my novel Midnight Days, was born and urban fantasy took over my writing life.

Now whenever I see a derelict building, an overgrown railway cutting or a ship stranded on the muddy riverbank of the Mersey, my brain fills with ideas of how I can use these stored images and transfer them from my mind into a world of my own making. To share my vision with others, making them live and breathe my creations. To mold and shape these transient thoughts into something really worth reading.

One day maybe, as long as the inspirations keep coming.

12 Responses to “The scales of inspiration.”

  1. Thanks, Ryan. Supportive as always. πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Ryan Holmes Says:

    Giving your readers a little look inside, Kate? Nicely done and so personal it makes the reader feel like their sitting on your couch sharing a drink.

    Like

  3. Well they’re welcome to a drink, but I’m not sharing my bacon buttie (sandwich) with them! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Oooh bacon sandwich the bane of all vegetarians! Another great poast as always Kate, keep em’ coming! πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. Thanks Sophie. The bacon buttie was gorgeous! πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Ryan Holmes Says:

    What’s a bacon butty?

    Like

Leave a Reply

