An interview with Sandie Newman.

Q. How would you classify your novel, The Crown of Crysaldor, as High fantasy or Heroic fantasy, or perhaps a combination of the two?

A. Crysaldor is a bit of both, it is high fantasy in terms of being set in a fictional kingdom but is also heroic fantasy as it is about a hero and ultimately a heroin, so you do get both.

Q. What makes your book stand out from others in the same genre?

A. I have been told many times that it is quite unique for the MC to be a girl and I really liked that, it wasn’t even intentional. I also wanted this book to be as realistic as possible, having not that many magical elements but just enough to make things exciting.

Q. How long have you been writing for?

A. I’ve been writing since I was 16 and working on Crysaldor for the last ten years.

Q. The road to publication can be tough, would you ever consider self-publishing as opposed to the “traditional” route?

A. I decided several years ago that when I finished the book I would firstly exhaust all agents and then publishers to see if any of them wanted it and then if they don’t I’m going to get one copy self-published for me as a memento. But then the online avenue came along and so I’m not ruling out doing that and seeing what happens.

Q. What was the first thing you wrote?

A. The first book I wrote was called Good Versus Evil and was truly terrible. I mean everything about it was awful, but I did think it was good at the time. It had a terrible storyline about God sending one of his angels to the future to stop the devil’s goblins doing something. But that’s where I got the idea for the MC being a girl, so it wasn’t totally bad.

Q. Who are your favourite authors and why?

A. To be honest, I’m not a great reader but I do own a couple of Judy Blume books I used to read when I was a teenager. Her writing is so easy to follow and she makes you identify with the problems her MC is having.

Q. Do you have a blog and or website where readers can view your work?

A.I don’t actually, but my book is very accessible on authonony.com. at: http://www.authonomy.com/books/10639/the-crown-of-crysaldor/

Q. How do you plot out your work? For instance, do you compose profiles for your characters?

A. When I started writing Crysaldor I had an idea of what I wanted to happen in the story and that was it and I found that when I started just writing it, it didn’t work. I had to really plan things out. So, because my book is about finding diamonds I planned where they all were and wrote a prophecy and just wrote down notes about what I wanted to do, I even planned out where on the crown the diamonds are, made life a lot easier.

 Q. What is your greatest wish as a writer?

A. To have my book published. If I received that call/email that all unpublished authors dream of getting, that an agent wants to represent me or that a publisher was interested in it, it would be a lifelong dream come true.

Q. Finally, what advice would you offer aspiring writers?

A. The best thing I ever did when I finished my book was put it on authonomy. It helped me so much and I learned a lot, I changed a lot of the book for the better. For example, my book originally started with a very boring scene on top of a hill, now it starts with a fierce, vicious battle between two men and I don’t regret changing it for a second. The other thing is the Writers’ and Artists website: www.writersandartists.co.uk/  which is brilliant for finding details of all the agents and has direct links to their website. Lastly, it is a cliché, but never give up, you will find that perseverance and persistence extremely handy.

 

8 Responses to “An interview with Sandie Newman.”

  1. Another wonderful interview, Kate! Always interesting, honest and full of insights into each author’s writing processes and ideas.

    Great stuff! Well done Sandie! Lovely interview! 😀

    Like

    • Sandie Newman Says:

      Thanks so much Sophie, I really appreciate that. It was excellent doing the interview and talking about my book.

      Like

      • It’s a great experience isn’t it?

        Kate is so lovely as well, a real champion of our genre! I’m really pleased you enjoyed it, I certainly enjoyed reading it!

        We fantasy writers have to stick together, it’s a dark jungle out there! 😀 xx

        Like

  2. Thanks Sophie.

    Like

  3. Agreed, Sophie, another great interview!

    Like

  4. Thanks Sophie, yes Kate is lovely and it was a joy doing the interview. Hopefully one day my book will be published, that would be excellent, here’s hoping.

    Like

  5. Ron A Sewell Says:

    If anyone deserves success it’s Sandy. I really hope she gets that phone call from a publisher soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

