An interview with Richard A Wentworth.

Q. Your novel Aracelis is a combination of sci fi and fantasy. What made you choose this combination of genres?

A. I did not really choose the genres; I felt right at home in both.  Think about it, are not ALL books Fantasy by definition? Most stories written can inform, entertain, and transport the reader to a world/space in time that does not exist, to escape from this world reality, to where creatures can and all ways will be, magical. Sci Fi is speculation in WHAT IF. It is another level of life that people often ignore, some are fascinated by it, write about the topic and create new worlds. Both genres balance each other, and well, you have a story.

Q. The concept of a character that travels via power and phone lines to contact humans seems to me to be unique. Where did the idea come from?

 A. Thank you for the compliment. Anyway, Aracelis came to me in a dream around 10 years ago. When I woke-up, I remembered fragments of the story, wrote down basic facts, and now, the story has evolved with time.  Of course, Aracelis has changed from the dream I had. She has more depth, personality and charm. In addition, new characters have appeared when I started to write it.

The name Aracelis came to me from a woman due to an accident. She had turned her car over and I stopped to offer my assistance. While we waited for the emergency crew to arrive, I kept her company, we talked and she told me her name was ARACELIS and it left an impression on me of strength, beauty and it felt natural to borrow the name for this story.  The name flowed so smoothly and fitted my character perfectly, so I borrowed it.

Q.  Is there likely to be a sequel/sequels in the pipeline, or do you have other projects in mind?

 A. Yes, a second book, but if I say what’s it is about, we will spoil the first book. I have many children’s picture book stories done, one has been on the back burner for years and I will get to it some day.  I also have an idea that I am thinking about. Pushin’ is a 99-page movie script.  A wounded, wheel chaired Vietnam veteran with an addiction for alcohol, turns his life around and focuses on a new addiction: building and racing wheel chairs for marathons.

Q. What event or events led to you becoming a writer?

 A. My children are the cause for all this writing, LOL, but it is fun to create.  When they were younger, I wrote my first story, Michele’s Dragon, and, well, another story came to me, then another and another and voila, I am a writer.  I wrote Heather saves a hummingbird because I was the main character and decided to use a young girl doing the saving. I queried Simon and Schuster; they asked to see it.  My foot was in the door but, alas, they returned it 3 months later, saying they could not publish it successfully. It’s ready to go, but other projects have distracted me from sending it out, however, I am thinking of trying again.

Q.  Who are your favorite authors and why?

 A. My lord, Kate, this is one loaded, long question, but I will choose a few.  Guy De Maupassant, his short stories have passion, are constructed with care and can teach all who take the time to study. The masters, and he is one, have the flair to surprise and thrill, with the unexpected turns they take and give the reader an exciting ride.

I fell in love with this beautiful woman as I read one of her short stories, Gilded six bits. Zora Neale Hurston has the elegance of deep, deep, Southern African American dialog that places the reader in the same room and you feel the tensions, too. Read her novel, Their eyes were watching God and you will know the feeling. There are others too that have the dialog down, but she is the best, in my opinion.

Anne Rule writes about true crime. Spouses murdering one another.  Anne breaks down all that happens, from the first phone call to 911, what the detectives find, to what forensics does. It fascinates me, to take evidence, study and conclude what really happened. She lays the whole case out, even what the lawyers do, too. Her books are a treasure trove to study, a little morbid, you might think, as she explores an area others try to avoid.

Q. What inspires you the most?

 A. Nature is my top choice, my family and life. This world has so many fascinating things to look at, to study and admire.  While I was in the U.S Marine Corps in 1979, I was stationed at Mount Fuji, Japan, and had the opportunity to climb this majestic mountain. We climbed all day, slept on the mountain and the next morning, I had the opportunity to see the sunrise below me. That was a first for me and left a lasting impression.

I have an interesting story about that climb, too.  As Joe and I climbed Mount Fuji, we passed an older Japanese man, he was in his 60’s, and we thought we would never see him again. (I was in great shape too.)  He was always behind us, staying close, and the next morning was at the summit a few minutes before me. As I rounded a boulder and the summit opened up, he was standing by the crater, adjusting his camera. I walked up to him, he handed me the camera, and I took his picture. We traded places and he took mine and went our separate way.  I still have that picture and think about the lesson he taught me; one I will always remember—do not judge others by their age.

Q. Do you keep a record of ideas and how? For instance, do you carry a notebook or keep files on your computer?

A. LOL…I try to keep paper and pencil handy. If an idea floats by, I will write it down. I have two, three, compositions, 100 page notebooks filled with poems, on both sides of the pages.  Numerous spiral bound notebooks too. My computer has all the stories, flash drives as back up, and printed ones too.

I also have a notebook by the bed, on my passenger seat while I drive to work, if I remember, and assorted composition books about the house.

Q. Have you ever self-published and if so, where can your book/books be purchased?

A. Caught is flash fiction of 5 stories. I have an e book, Caught, on:  http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/103931

 Also on Kindle/Amazon, http://www.amazon.com/Caught-ebook/dp/B006AT9YCU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1330723888&sr=8-1

In book form at Lulu.com, I added a poem to this called, Ye Old Tree

http://www.lulu.com/product/paperback/caught/18905610?productTrackingContext=search_results/search_shelf/center/2

Q. Do you have a blog/website where your work can be viewed?

A. Not yet, but I am trying, next on my list of things to do. I do have a work in progress on Authonomy: Aracelis :  http://www.authonomy.com/books/30602/aracelis/

Q. Where do you see your writing taking you?

 A. I would like to sell enough to be independent of financial restraints.  My ego is not great; I am not looking for fame, just a comfortable position in life. I enjoy writing, creating new stories, and finding joy when the books inspire others. If my books take flight and sell well, that is an added bonus.

Q. Finally, what one piece of advice would you give to aspiring writers?

 A. Read, read and read more. Read all that touches your hands. Never ignore the masters and read what your competition is doing too. They might inspire you to write that one masterpiece that is floating in your mind. Write what feels comfortable to you. Try new ideas; reach for the stars and NEVER GIVE UP. Sure, rejection is hard but that is part of the process. In time, when people are flocking to read your books and your life style is relaxed, younger authors will say—I want to achieve that same success. One last thing, you should NEVER GIVE UP ON YOUR DREAM!

Wolf’s deaths,

Sadness fills my heart,

once proud,

and free,

closed minds,

destroy…

freedom.

9 Responses to “An interview with Richard A Wentworth.”

  1. Superb interview! Really agree with Richard too on his perspectives about fantasy and sci-fi. Very entertaining and enlightening! Another fabulous interview, you’ve done it again Kate! Well done Richard and Kate. 😀

    Like

  2. Great interview Kate! Richard, I knew you could do it…butterflies for nothing. 😉 A worthy addition to the author ranks.

    Like

  3. Thank you girls.

    Like

  4. ‘Never give up on your dreams’ so true! well done Richard and Kate 🙂

    Like

  5. Richard A. Wentworth Says:

    That was fun Kate. Keep up the interviews, you do a good job and inform others. It was a pleasure to do. So, who is next?

    Like

  6. Richard A. Wentworth Says:

    Thanks Kate for adding the poem at the end.

    Like

  7. Wonderful interview Kate, and some inspiring stories there too Rich, well done both of you 🙂

    Like

  8. Thanks Rose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

